Displayed here is a culmination of the greatest Hobie Cat Sailors that Australia has to offer.

From the nooks and crannies in Victoria, all the way up the eastern seaboard to the Sunshine State, and across the continent to the vast land in the West, we assemble the greatest Hobie Sailors throughout Australia. In doing so, we anticipate and dare to dream of the eventual outcome as we head into the Australian Hobie Class Championships, as the final event of the Australian Championships Tour.

After 50 years of the Hobie Class in Australia, promoting our competitive spirit along with the truly spectacular number of sailors in our class, the ANHCA thought we’d put together a ‘Minor Premiership. The top sailors, the greatest performed State and Sailing Clubs, along with those who have displayed the ‘Hobie Spirit’ across the 2024 Sailing Season, will receive special recognition at the welcoming ceremony for the Hobie Nationals.

  • Any official Club regatta can qualify for the Championships Tour. There must be a minimum of five entries per class to be scored separately. If there are less than five entries per class, a score will be applied for the overall position on yardstick.
  • If there is an event not yet posted on the Championships Tour, or you have an event you’d like included into the Events Calendar, please get in contact with The ANHCA.

Stay tuned Cowboy Sailors, place your bets, get your boat ready, and we’ll be seeing you all at the next event on the Championship Tour with the Hobie Family.

The Championship Tour – Point System

  • 300 Points – World Championships (Open)
  • 200 Points – Australian/Continental Championships
  • 150 Points – World Championships (Division)
  • 100 Points – State Championships / Nationals (Women & Youth / Division)
  • 50 Points –  Official Club Regatta / States (Women & Youth / Division)

Ranking Points = E (N-P+1) / N

  • E = Event Rank
  • N = Number of Entries
  • P = Position in regatta

Current Hobie Cat National Champions

Hobie 16 DisciplineSkipperCrew
OpenDarren SmithClaire Bisgood
MastersCam OwenSuzzi Ghent
Grand MastersDarren SmithClaire Bisgood
Great Grand MastersPhil Kellond-KnightJames Kellond-Knight
WomenBella ZanescoHelen Warneke
YouthLachy OwenElisabeth Smith
Hobie 14 DisciplineSkipper
OpenBryn Robinson-Mills
MastersFletcher Warren-Myers
Grand MastersMick Butler
Great Grand MastersRod Waterhouse
WomenGeorgia Warren-Myers
YouthBryn Robinson-Mills
Turbo (Jervis Bay, 2023)Upu Kila
Hobie 17 (Jervis Bay, 2022)Jon Simms
Hobie 18Peter ManleyKatie Duggan
Tiger (Jervis Bay, 2023)Kerry DriverAndrew Driver
WildcatShane PetersonPeter Dubbelaar
Dragoon (Jervis Bay, 2023)Matilda MorrisEmily Chiu

Current Hobie Cat State Champions

StateLocationHobie 14-TurboHobie 14Hobie 16
NSWKurnell Catamaran Club & Wangi Wangi ASCAndrew McKenziePaddy ButlerCam Owen & Suzzi Ghent
VICPort Melbourne Yacht ClubUpu KilaPaddy ButlerFletcher & Georgia Warren-Myers
WAThe Cruising Yacht Club, RockinghamDarren SmithGavin Colby & Mia Lovelady
QLDRoyal Queensland Yacht SquadronMick ButlerPeter & Juliet Bates